New law for register of deeds office

St. Joseph County Clerk Lindsay Oswald said a new law goes into effect Oct. 1 regarding the fee for documents from the county’s register of deeds office.
The law states that a fee of $30, regardless of the number of pages, will be charged.
The only exception will be if the document assigns or discharges more than one instrument. In that case, the $3 fee for each instrument after the first reference remains.
Oswald said a number of parties spent more than the past year working collaboratively for the flat-fee charge. They include the Michigan Association of Registers of Deeds and the Michigan Land Title Association in cooperation with Michigan Bankers Association, Credit Unions, the State Bar of Michigan – Real Property Law Section – Michigan Association of Treasurers, Michigan Oil and Gas Association, and state and federal lien holders.

Check Also

Woman found dead in Cass County

Cass County Sheriff Richard Behnke said the agency is investigating a death that deputies believe …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *